BOD & Committees

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BOD) is responsible for setting the strategic directions and financial management of the organization as well as oversight of all major activities. Furthermore, the BOD is responsible for any other tasks that the General Assembly or the Executive Committee assigns to the BOD.

The Board of Directors (BOD) consists of 13 individual seats. 9 seats are represented by geographic region: Americas: 3 seats, Europe: 4 seats, Asia/Australia: 2 seats, providing 9 regional representatives. There are an additional 4 seats reserved for specialty disciplines: project manager, paramedic, nurse, radiographer. The BOD consists of 13 seats in total.

Regional Seats


James Grotta, MD, Memorial Hermann Texas Medical Center
Shazam Hussain, MD, Cleveland Clinic
Harish Shownkeen, MD, Northwestern Medicine


Klaus Faßbender, MD, PhD, Saarland University Hospital
Heinrich Audebert, MD, Charité Medical University of Berlin
Karianne Larsen, Norwegian Air Ambulance
Prof. Silke Walter, Universität des Saarlandes

Asia & Australia

Stephen Davis, AM, MD, FRCP Edin, FAHMS, FRACP, Royal Melbourne Hospital
Maher Saqqur, MD, MPH, FRCPC, Hamad General Hospital

Specialty Seats


Anne Alexandrov, PhD, AGACNP-BC, ANVP-BC, NVRN-BC, CCRN, FAAN, University of Tennessee Health


Daniel Phillips, MCPara, Dip IMC RCS (Ed), East of England Ambulance Service


Francesca Langenberg, OCR, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Project Manager

Stephanie Parker, MHA, BSN, RN, University of Texas Health


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is responsible for the everyday activities of PRESTO, which shall have and may exercise the authority of the Board in the management of the business and affairs of PRESTO during intervals between meetings.

President: Heinrich Audebert, MD
President-Elect: Shazam Hussain, MD
Immediate Past-President: James Grotta, MD
Treasurer: Anne Alexandrov, PhD, AGACNP-BC, ANVP-BC, NVRN-BC, CCRN, FAAN
Secretary: Daniel Phillips, MCPara, Dip IMC RCS (Ed)

Working Groups

In general, PRESTO committees serve to identify and meet the needs of the PRESTO Board of Directors and members within specific areas of interest and activity. The committees also report on or take action on activities delegated by the President and Board of Directors.

Dispatch Committee

Heinrich Audebert, MD - Chair
Nicolas Bianchi, MD
Stephanie Parker, MHA, BSN, RN
Maher Saqqur, MD, MPH, FRCPC
Ilana Spokoyny, MD

Reimbursement Committee

Anne Alexandrov, PhD, AGACNP-BC, ANVP-BC, NVRN-BC, CCRN, FAAN - Chair
James Grotta, MD
Shazam Hussain, MD
Kenneth Reichenbach, DNP, AGACNP-BC
Stephanie Parker, MHA, BSN, RN
Andrew Russman, DO

Government Relations

James Grotta, MD – Chair
Anne Alexandrov, PhD, AGACNP-BC,
Stephanie Parker, MHA, BSN, RN
Kenneth Reichenbach,  MSN, FNP-C,
Shazam Hussain, MD
Andrew Russman, DO
Joseph Broderick, MD
Claranne Mathieson, MSN, RN
Gina Petredis
Candace Sabers
Sen. Ramesh Akbari
Ryan Ambrose
Tory Castor
Stephen Shehy
Mary Tirrel
Emily Holubowich
Tyler Hoblitzell
Scott Ziomek
Mandy Bazile
May Nour, MD
Ilana Spokoyny, MD


Research Committee

Maher Saqqur, MD, MPH, FRCPC - Chair
Martin Ebinger, MD, PhD
Henry Zhao, MBBS, FRACP
Chethan P. Venkatasubba Rao, MD, FNCS
Ken Uchino, MD

Data Elements Subcommittee

Maher Saqqur, MD, MPH, FRCPC - Chair
Angela Black, MBA
A. Blake Buletko, MD
James Grotta, MD
José-Miguel Yamal, PhD
Henry Zhao, MBBS, FRACP
Diana Proper, MS, RT (R) (VI) ARRT 
Digvijaya "Digs" Navalkele, MD, MPH

Membership Committee

Shazam Hussain, MD - Chair
Daniel Phillips, MCPara, Dip IMC RCS (Ed)
- Co-Chair

Nicolas Bianchi, MD
James Grotta, MD
Megan Leary, MD
Rebecca Zobel, BSN, RN, SCRN


Past Executives and Officers

Klaus Faßbender, MD, PhD, founding President (2018 - 2019)
Shrey Mathur, BSc, MD, founding Secretary (2018 - 2019)

Want to know more?   
2023 PRE-hospital Stroke Treatment Organization | All Rights Reserved
5841 Cedar Lake Rd, Suite 204| Minneapolis, MN 55416 | 952-646-2040 |